How the University and Colleges work


How the University and Colleges work

With more than 18,000 students from all walks of life and all corners of the world, over 11,000 staff, 31 Colleges and 150 Departments, Faculties, Schools and other institutions, no two days are ever the same at the University of Cambridge.

At the heart of this confederation of Departments, Schools, Faculties and Colleges is a central administration team. It is small because the Colleges are self-governing and teaching staff carry out much of the daily administration at Cambridge.

faculty BrE ˈfak(ə)lti, AmE ˈfækəlti 学院
institution BrE ɪnstɪˈtjuːʃ(ə)n, AmE ˌɪnstəˈt(j)uʃ(ə)n 机构
confederation BrE kənfɛdəˈreɪʃ(ə)n, AmE kənˌfɛdəˈreɪʃ(ə)n 联盟
central BrE ˈsɛntr(ə)l, AmE ˈsɛntrəl 中央
administration BrE ədmɪnɪˈstreɪʃ(ə)n, AmE ədˌmɪnəˈstreɪʃ(ə)n 行政 管理

self-governing 自治

teaching staff 教研人员 staff BrE stɑːf, AmE stæf 职工 员工

daily administration 日常管理


The University is a confederation of Schools, Faculties, Departments and Colleges. The Colleges are governed by their own statutes and regulations, but are integral to the make-up of the University of Cambridge.


Students live, eat and socialise in one of the University’s 31 autonomous Colleges. Undergraduates receive College supervisions – small group teaching sessions – regarded as one of the best teaching models in the world.

Each College has its own internal procedures. They select their own students, subject to University regulations, and most admit both undergraduate and postgraduate students. College representatives sit on the University Council and Finance Committee.


There are six Schools, which each form an administrative grouping of Faculties and other institutions. They are: Arts and Humanities, Biological Sciences, Clinical Medicine, Humanities and Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Technology.

There is a Council of each School – including representatives of its Faculties and Departments. The Schools are represented on the General Board.

Faculties and Departments

University Faculties organise teaching and research into individual subjects or groups of subjects. Their work is normally organised into sub-divisions called Departments.

Centres of studies are controlled by committees of management, bringing together representatives from several disciplines.

statute BrE ˈstatʃuːt, ˈstatjuːt, AmE ˈstætʃut 规章制度 章程
integral AmE ˈɪn(t)əɡrəl 完整的 不可或缺的
socialize BrE ˈsəʊʃəlʌɪz, AmE ˈsoʊʃəˌlaɪz 交际
autonomous BrE ɔːˈtɒnəməs, AmE ɔˈtɑnəməs 自治的 自主的
undergraduate BrE ʌndəˈɡradjʊət, AmE ˌəndərˈɡrædʒuət 本科生

regarded as 被认为

teaching models 教学模式

internal procedures 内部程序

internal BrE ɪnˈtəːn(ə)l, AmE ɪnˈtərnl 里面的 内部的 国内的
procedure BrE prəˈsiːdʒə, AmE prəˈsidʒər 程序
postgraduate BrE pəʊs(t)ˈɡradjʊət, AmE poʊstˈɡrædʒuət 研究生
council BrE ˈkaʊns(ə)l, AmE ˈkaʊnsəl 理事会
finance BrE ˈfʌɪnans, fʌɪˈnans, fɪˈnans, AmE ˈfaɪnæns, fəˈnæns 财务
committee BrE kəˈmɪti, AmE kəˈmɪdi 委员会

Arts and Humanities, Biological Sciences, Clinical Medicine, Humanities and Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Technology. 艺术与人文科学,生物科学,临床医学,人文与社会科学,物理科学与技术

clinical BrE ˈklɪnɪk(ə)l, AmE ˈklɪnək(ə)l 临床的

the General Board 总理事会

bringing together 汇集

discipline BrE ˈdɪsɪplɪn, AmE ˈdɪsəplən 纪律 惩罚 学科
Loading Disqus comments...
Table of Contents